Principally yes, once you have made a backup on BackHub you can delete the repository on GitHub. Please be aware of the constraints when restoring mentioned above.
When you delete a repository at GitHub, BackHub keeps the latest backup that has been made before the repository has been deleted. However, BackHub will try to continue updating the backup since there no way for us to see through the GitHub API whether the repository has been deleted or is just temporarily not available. To prevent this, please deactivate recurring backup as indicated in the screenshot:
Your backup will be then listed in “Archived”.
When you create a backup, it’s atomatically set to recurring and is being updated on a daily basis. In some cases you might want to deactivate the recurring backup and prevent the backup from being updated.
Deactivating recurring backups is also necessary if you delete the original repository in GitHub. BackHub continues to try updating the backup every day since we can’t know for sure whether the repository is only temporarily unavlaible. Please deactivate recurring backups when you delete the original repository in GitHub.
To deactivate recurring backups:
If you have “recurring” activated for your repository, backups are being updated on a daily basis between 2–6am UCT+1. Old backups are overwritten with every new backup. We do not support incremental backups yet.
Recurring is activated by default, however is deactivared automatically if we lose connection to the original repository at GitHub. That happens for instance when you delete your repository at GitHub. Your backup remains in BackHub but is marked as “not recurring”.
If you want to delete a backup (e.g. to downgrade your plan), open the details of a backup and click on the link “delete backup” in the bottom on the right side.
The backup includes the complete git repository plus GitHub related meta data associated with the repository like issues and milestones.
We are including all data available via the GitHub API. This currently includes:
|Pull Requests||Pull requests are included in the backup but can only be restored as issues due to limitations of the GitHub API|
|Wiki||Can't be restored automatically due to limitations of the GitHub API.|
Yes, we offer plans up to 600 repositories which is the size of the largest plan at GitHub. However, if you are using BackHub also for archiving repositories and you need a larger plan, please talk to us
|0 Private Repositories||0 USD /month|
|30 Private Repositories||9 USD /month|
|75 Private Repositories||18 USD /month|
|150 Private Repositories||35 USD /month|
|300 Private Repositories||60 USD /month|
|600 Private Repositories||100 USD /month|
|900 Private Repositories||150 USD /month|
|1200 Private Repositories||200 USD /month|
|1500 Private Repositories||250 USD /month|
Yes, we also offer annual plans in order to avoid too much bookkeeping hassle. You can change your plan at any time and get a refund for switching to a smaller plan during the year.
|0 Private Repositories (annual)||0 USD /year|
|30 Private Repositories (annual)||108 USD /year|
|75 Private Repositories (annual)||216 USD /year|
|150 Private Repositories (annual)||420 USD /year|
|300 Private Repositories (annual)||720 USD /year|
|600 Private Repositories (annual)||1200 USD /year|
|900 Private Repositories (annual)||1800 USD /year|
|1200 Private Repositories (annual)||2400 USD /year|
|1500 Private Repositories (annual)||3000 USD /year|
You can restore all meta data listed above but there are some limitations due to the GitHub API:
You can download files of a repository backup directly from BackHub. The file download in BackHub is a ZIP package containing all files of the main branch and does not contain the whole repository with all branches. It’s the same you get when you download a ZIP at GitHub. This feature is intended to help you have a quick look into your files without having to restore the whole repository back to GitHub.
Our service works with GitHub OAuth and is dependent on the GitHub API. That is why it is not possible yet to restore or access your backups in case GitHub is not available. You can check the GitHub API status over here.
The good news is that we are working on a solution for that. We are planning to implement a GitHub independent login with a recovery password to be set in your account settings. You can then download a ZIP of the repository files or clone the repository via https.
You can cancel your account any time. In order to cancel your account, please log in and send us a short notice using the feedback form.
When we cancel your account, we will
Please note that when you login after cancellation a new, clean account with your GitHub username is created automatically.